Back from Eurocon

Made it back from Zagreb where I experienced my first sci-fi convention. An incredible experience, particularly since sci-fi fandom is something my country simple doesn’t have or is meagre enough to be neglected. Everyone there was in a good mood. Met me an American writer (Tim Powers), a British writer (Charles Stross) and a Russian writer (Dmitry Glukhovsky). I listened their stories with much envy, not because of their success but because they come from an environment that appreciates their efforts and rewarded them accordingly. It’s also amazing how different their lives are and yet all of them live from what I want to live from.
There is something that I miss: company of other writers. No offense to my friends from Hatrack Forum but the forum chit chat is simply not enough for me. Internet is not a substitute for a real-life relationships.
I also had a conversation with a British agent (John Berlyne) and it was refreshing to take a look at the industry from a different viewpoint. All this talk of late of agents being cookie monsters, it was nice to see they are people after all. Yes, they are in the business of making money but aren’t we all?

Leave a Reply

