Where am I?

Where am I? Caught in a proverbial editorial limbo. Three versions of a single dialogue, each with its own litle twist. And I want to keep all of them. The story has some white patches and I think I have them covered… until I turn and look at them.

Meanwhile, I’m trying to decide how to pursue my other career, the one that will sustain me until my writing can do that instead. Various people have advised me to find a quiet office job that would enable me to pursue my writing career in the afternoon. It makes sense… if you plan my life with your standards. A quiet office job would quietly and surely kill me as the harmless little lies killed my marriage. I’ve been sitting down and mostly writing for a month now. And, frankly, the thought of sitting still for a living is not that appealing at all.

While I was writing my thesis paper, pushing back tears of blood, I thought: as soon as I’m done with this, I’ll be in writer heaven. Naive? Perhaps but it kept me sane. Too much reality will drive anyone mad, neh?

Make no mistake, I’ll still write. Probably more than I did so far. And publish, something I haven’t done in English yet. But this won’t be the prime achievement of my life. What I want is to be out there, solving problems. Real problems. Important problems. Problems that most people chose to walk away from. Why? Because I can. And because I want to.

I’m not 28 yet. I dare say I feel 20 years old. One day I will be a full time writer… when I’m 80 or so. I have time to change my mind ten times over. Right now I’m content to keep writing as a fun hobby.

Fiction is my playground. Let’s keep it that way.

Leave a Reply

